There are two kinds of people in the world: those who make excuses and those who get results. An excuse person will find any excuse for why a job was not done, and a results person will find any reason why it can be done. Be a creator, not a reactor. — Alan Cohen, A Deep Breath Of Life

Monologue

Monologues are typically the best way to reveal something about a character, by allowing them to talk and talk, spilling their thoughts. Monologues are emotion driven, and are usually full of either fear, sadness, excitement, etc. Monologues usually involve only one character, or the supporting  character has a maximum of two lines, like below.  Here is a not very creative monologue I wrote in creative writing, so you can see what I’m talking about.
     “His hands, you should really feel them; not like any man’s I ever knew, I’ll tell you that. So smooth, and warm, like his smile – did I mention that he’s Portuguese?”
     “No-”
     “Oh gosh, that smile, Steph! And the way he walks is a mixture between Greek god and that guy off that runway show, the one with the perfect tush? Yeah, just like that. His biceps are so huge, I doubt that I’ll ever see a watermelon that size! I bet your mouth is just watering, isn’t it? Mine was too, no lies! And the way he rubbed his knee against mine, but pretended like he wasn’t paying attention? That’s the oldest trick in the book! I almost burst out laughing, but then he looked at me and, oh gosh, Steph, I caught a look at his eyes. That perfect crystal blue color, like a smurf that ate too much cotton candy. I looked away fast, you bet I did, but then he leaned in all close. I can still smell it; gasoline and freshly-mown grass! I want to just bottle him up and take him everywhere I go! But he promised to sit with me tomorrow, can you believe it? I’m still in shock – and I don’t have anything to wear! I’ll have to go shopping, but, wait, do you remember that little dress from the Zipper Depot? That’d be perfect!” Pause. “Say, can I borrow forty dollars?”
Leave a Reply

